County Council

coucil collage 18

The County Council is the legislative branch of New Castle County government. The council body includes 13 council members elected from each of 12 districts and the council president, who is elected at-large. The County Council studies issues that affect the operation of the government and the citizens it represents. Council writes and passes laws and resolutions that improve the operation and protect the health and welfare of the citizens of New Castle County. Council members serve staggered four-year terms.

Council & Committee Meetings

Council Meetings are held on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month in Council Chambers. All committee meetings are held in the eighth floor conference room unless otherwise noted. Subcommittees meet whenever necessary.

View Current Schedule

View Current Committee and Sub-Committee Chairs

Agendas, Minutes & Audio Files

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. Please contact Nellie Hill, Clerk of Council, at 302-395-8388 for a copy of a committee meeting's audio file or any updated information.

View All Agendas and Minutes and Audio