As of January 2010, administration of dog licensing in Delaware is the responsibility of the counties. Residents of New Castle County, outside the City of Wilmington, must obtain dog licenses from the county; Wilmington residents will continue to purchase dog licenses from the City.
Individual Dog License Requirements
Licenses are issued for the calendar year, January 1 through December 31 and can be purchased for one, two or three year periods.
All dogs 6 months of age or older must be licensed for that year.
State law allows a 60-day grace period for obtaining a dog license, which means that all licenses must be obtained by March 1.
In order for a dog to be licensed, the owner must present proof of current rabies vaccination at the time the license is issued.
Online Purchases Credit card purchases can be made online using the PetData Website.
Mail-In Purchases You can complete and mail-in the license application, along with a check or money order, a copy of your dog's current rabies vaccination certificate, and if applicable, proof of spay/neuter to:
New Castle County Dog Licensing
PO Box 141929
Irving, TX 75014
All information submitted in this application is subject to the Freedom of Information Act and will be released if requested.
In addition to purchasing dog licenses online or by mail, licenses can also be purchased at any of the following local vendors.
New Castle County Government Center (Mon.-Fri. 8am-4pm)
Delaware Humane Association
New London Veterinary
SPAYED or NEUTERED DOG UNALTERED DOG
1 year @ $10 1 year @ $15
2 years @ $20 2 years @ $30
3 years @ $30 3 years @ $45
If the dog owner is disabled or is 65 years of age or older, the fee is $4 for a one-year license, $5 for a 2-year license, and $6 for a 3-year license. To receive the discounted rate, applicant must include proof of disability assistance or proof of age, such as a copy of valid driver’s license or other document that includes date of birth.
Animal control is the statewide responsibility of the Kent County SPCA. ALL animal control issues in ALL counties fall under the authority and enforcement of Delaware Animal Control (DEACC) officers & the KCSPCA.
Contact Kent County SPCA Toll Free at 888-352-7722, or 302-698-3006. Press 1 for Animal Control. http://www.kcspca.org/