Library Advisory Board

Regular Meetings
  • 5:30 p.m.
  • Second Wednesday of the month
  • Carolee Kunz, Chair
  • Kay Bowes, 2nd or 8th District
  • Barbara Garton Erskine, 6th or 12th District
  • Gail Gill, Appoquinimink Friends
  • Anne Hampton, Woodlawn Friends
  • Cheryl Rice Moore, 5th or 11th District
  • William Murray, Brandywine Hundred Friends
  • Cheryl Smith, Contract Representative
  • Eleanor Smith, 3rd or 9th District
  • Sarah Jane Spaulding, Newark Friends
  • Janet Villarreal, Kirkwood Highway Friends
  • Three Vacancies
Board Responsibilities
The Library Advisory Board is a 13 member board made up of general citizens and library friends groups responsible for advising the county library manager, recommending programs concerning local library needs, implementation of an effective county library system, and for reviewing and making recommendations on such matters as:
  • All new and modified administrative policies
  • The budget
  • Long-range plans
  • Site selection for new libraries
  • Conceptual plans for the construction and expansion of new and existing libraries
  • Material changes in the master plan
Membership Requirements
The county executive, with the advice and consent of County Council, shall appoint twelve members:
  • One from the 1st or 7th District
  • One from the 2nd or 8th District
  • One from the 3rd or 9th District
  • One from the 4th or 10th District
  • One from the 5th or 11th District
  • One from the 6th or 12th District
  • Six members from among existing friends groups, such members to be nominated by the friends groups, particularly those associated with new and/or existing libraries currently under construction